· By Angela Petulla
Does Buffalo Sauce Have Dairy?
The short answer: it depends. Buffalo sauces frequently contain butter, which is a dairy ingredient, but each recipe differs. You can certainly find dairy-free buffalo sauce options, such as our Not Too Hot Buffalo Sauce, but we recommend checking the label of any hot sauce to be sure.
What is Buffalo Sauce?
Even though its such a popular condiment, people often wonder "what is buffalo sauce?" This iconic sauce is a type of hot sauce that is typically made by adding ingredients, such as garlic, Worcestershire sauce, and butter. With the addition of the butter, buffalo sauce has a smoother and richer flavor than hot sauce and tones down the punchy spiciness while maintaining its tangy flavor.
Buffalo sauce has been the go-to sauce for wings after its creation in 1964 at the Anchor Bar in Buffalo, New York when co-owner Teressa Bellissimo made the first batch of Buffalo Wings for her son and his friends. Traditionally, chicken wings would be used to make soup, but Teressa decided to deep fry them and coat them in a secret sauce. The wings were an instant hit, and so started the universally loved hot sauce that is a staple at bars, tailgates, and parties.
Why Does Buffalo Sauce Often Contain Dairy?
Buffalo sauce is known for its creamy texture and spicy kick, and a good buffalo sauce evenly coats a chicken wing for balanced flavor distribution. Butter (and other dairy ingredients or fats) give buffalo sauce that silky texture and rich taste that differentiates it from a simple hot sauce.
Related: Buffalo Hummus Recipe
While people can use butter alternatives when making a buffalo sauce (such as margarine or oil), some of the best ones are made by whisking in melted butter, emulsifying the sauce, which can give it a nice viscosity and mouthfeel. However, you will find that many shelf-stable wing sauces that are sold in stores opt to use oils and thickeners, rather than butter, which can create a less rich tasting sauce.
Is Creamy Buff-alo From Not Too Hot Sauce Dairy-Free?
Yep! Instead of using butter, we make our mild buffalo sauce with a homemade mayo, which provides that iconic creamy texture without the dairy. However, because we use eggs in our mayonnaise, our sauce is not vegan (note that while eggs and dairy products are often grouped together, eggs are entirely dairy-free).
Shop Our Hot Sauces
- Jalapeño Business 7 oz. Jalapeño Lime Hot Sauce
Jalapeño Business 7 oz. Jalapeño Lime Hot Sauce$9.99